The ActiveRain Stuff You Won't Find Anywhere Else on the Web

Agent Ratings and Reviews Go Public on Zillow

Your Reviews Are Now Front 'n Center on Zillow

It was announced last week to the general public that "Zillow surfaces thousands of Real Estate agent ratings and reviews.  Consumers can now search and find local agents based on Client feedback"  The responses and results from adding this new feature have been very positive and successful thus far.


Agent reviews will now be featured on the Buyer's Agent List.  (see screenshot below) This means if you want contacts from Zillow customers, it will be to your advantage to have reviews and ratings on your profile.

Want a competitive edge?  Get great reviews from your clients.

To get started, simply copy and paste your customized link (see sample below) and email it to your clients.  You'll find your custom link on your Zillow profile.  On click, your clients will go directly to your Zillow profile, where they can begin the review process.*  Consumers can also just search the Directory to find their agent. 

http://www.zillow.com/reviews/write?s=X1-ZUz0nxke9x2a6h_a3ta0

Share your own custom link as many ways as possible - post it on Facebook, tweet it, and add it to your website.  Include it on your email signature.  Tell folks about it every opportunity you get.  Before you know it, multiple reviews will be coming your way.

You're welcome to join me for an open FAQ session about Ratings and Reviews on Jan. 28th, at 10:00am (PST) where you'll hear and learn more about how and why ratings and reviews are the next best thing to a word-of-mouth referral.

Thousands of agents have been reviewed, so it's more important than ever to have reviews added to your profile. Make sure you stand out.


*Your client will need to create a Zillow account (if they don't have one already) in order to submit the review. Don't worry, it's painless and requires just an email address and password and they can immediately opt-out of Zillow emails. Zillow requires an account for review moderation and verification.

 

     

"Learn More. Get More. Do More. Be More."

Comment balloon 41 commentsBrad Andersohn • January 19 2011 09:16AM

Comments

Hi Brad

I just heard about this in a Tech class on Monday. We were not able to go over the how to as the time was limited so thanks for the post.

Posted by Nancy Fraser, Realtor, Massapequa Homes for Sale 516-729-0278 (Exit Realty Premier) almost 10 years ago

Hi Nancy - Keep taking those tech classes, they're a must if you want to keep up in business today. 

The 28th will be a great opportunity to hear from others on how they're using this and get answers to any questions you may have.  I'll have a couple very special ActiveRain guests with us that day too.  Hope you can join us. Thanks. :)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 10 years ago

Great post.  I have heard about this and it does sound like a great thing.  Everyone reads reviews these days on everything.

Posted by Stella Barbour, Principal Broker, Serving Virginia and Maryland (NoVa Brokers LLC) almost 10 years ago

So many sights with reviews about everything from eggs to elevators lol

Thanks for the tip

Enjoy the day

Posted by Don MacLean, Realtor-Homes for Sale- Easton Mass (New England Real Estate Center Inc.) almost 10 years ago

One of my Realtor clients recently had a review posted to his Zillow profile.  It shot him straight to the top of the real estate directory in Zillow for his market area.  The ratings are read and could influence a buyer's or seller's decision when choosing an agent.

Posted by Retired from ActiveRain almost 10 years ago

Stella - thanks.  Reviews and testimonials, even though written, are the next best thing to word of mouth.

Don - lol~  Eggs - 2.99,  Elevators - 2999.99, Your Clients Review and Endorsement - PRICELESS!  :-)

Rick - You summed it up perfectly, thanks.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 10 years ago

I received an e-mail last week from Zillow alerting me that one of my clients had written a nice review of me.  I hand't sent her anything to prompt this so I called her and she said she was just looking through Zillow and somehow clicked on something that took her to me.  Not sure how that happened, but I'm glad it did, and now I'll follow your advice for the rest of my clients.

Posted by Margaret Goss, Chicago's North Shore & Winnetka Real Estate (Baird & Warner Real Estate) almost 10 years ago

I am sooo going to do this...I bookmarked it for later,hopefully this week!  Thanks so much. I regularly now include your widgets in my posts...looking forward to the next webinar whenever it is!

Posted by Kristin Johnston - REALTOR®, Giving Back With Each Home Sold! (RE/MAX Realty Center ) almost 10 years ago

I just got my first review over the weekend. This is a great excuse to reconnect with past clients.  Great addition to Zillow!

Posted by Kathryn Maguire, Serving Chesapeake, Norfolk, VA Beach (GreatNorfolkHomes.com (757) 560-0881) over 9 years ago

Thank you Brad for the tip.  When surfing on Zillow yesterday I "walked" right passed this.  I will take your advice and encourage my clients to give me a review on Zillow.

Posted by Dan Quinn, Dan Quinn (The Eric Steart Group of Long & Foster Real Estate) over 9 years ago

Great info BRAD!  I'm going to do it right now.  I already have a Zillow account but I really haven't been using it.  Boy, that email signature of mine is getting awfully long!  :)

Posted by Karen L. Pietsch, Cary Property Pros. Cary Property Pros Premier Real Estate (Cary Property Pros - 4 Sale Realty, Inc.) over 9 years ago

I spoke to Elizabeth Weintraub on the phone yesterday who has had over 290 contacts, 29 so far this month, 5 just on Saturday, and has referred out over 32 transactions to others in her area.  She has 20 quality reviews right now and is SMOKIN on Zillow.  I hope to have her as one of my guests on the 28th to share with you "what and how" she's doing all this. 

She's one of many who are using these tools to expand her reach and grow her business.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

I just received an internal email that we now have 10K agent reviews, WOOHOO!!!

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

And when will Zillow be launching the feature that allows agents to rate and review their clients? :)

Posted by John Novak, Henderson, Las Vegas and Summerlin Real Estate (Keller Williams Realty The Marketplace) over 9 years ago

Oh, Joy!

Posted by Alan May, There's no place like home. (Jameson Sotheby's International Realty) over 9 years ago

I recently got my first review, quite unsolicited, and that must be because they saw how to do it on the site. 

Posted by J. Philip Faranda, Broker-Owner (J. Philip Faranda (J. Philip R.E. LLC) Westchester County NY) over 9 years ago

John - probably not gonna happen, you're already able and doing that here on your Blog and in comments.

Alan - you won't get your 25 points for two word comments.  lol~  Glad you have "joy" though, me too!!

"I recently got my first review, quite unsolicited, and that must be because they saw how to do it on the site."

J. Phillip
- It's pretty hard to miss looking at any agents profile in the Zillow Directory.  Congrats!!  Imagine what will happen when you solicit a few.  With over 10,000 reviews on Zillow agents now, I'm certain it will snowball into much higher numbers in the days and weeks ahead. 
Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

I don't know about "multiple reviews" flowing your way, lol.  It's a pain trying to get a client to email you a written testimonial after they close their deal.  It's much easier to shoot a video or record audio at the closing or right after.

Posted by Justin Dibbs, REALTOR® - Ashburn Virginia Homes for Sale (Pearson Smith Realty) over 9 years ago

Justin - great idea, the only thing with video is that just like many agents are uncomfortable in front of a camera, sometimes the clients might be too.  This is a great way to set it up though...  Try this:  "Hey clients, I'd like to take a video of you so you can share and tell all about your home buying or selling experience with me..."  pause...take a breath, let it soak in for a second..., then say, "or would you rather just post a written review on my Zillow profile?" 

Now if you can get a video, that's great. I think video is by far the ultimate way to go, I just wish everyone else (including me) didn't mind being filmed or in front of the camera. 

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

"Hey clients, I'd like to take a video of you so you can share and tell all about your home buying or selling experience with me..."  pause...take a breath, let it soak in for a second..., then say, "or would you rather just post a written review on my Zillow profile?"
~~~~~~~~

I like this approach... lemee tweak it for my use:

"Hey Mr. and Mrs. Seller, I'd love to talk to you a moment about reducing the price of your beautiful home", (that's been sitting on the market for the last 728 days), pause for effect, "or would you rather just post a positive written review on my Zillow profile?"

yeah, that's the ticket... now I have to go back to my house, with my beautiful wife, Morgan Fairchild... that's right... Morgan Fairchild!!

Posted by Alan May, There's no place like home. (Jameson Sotheby's International Realty) over 9 years ago

Hi Brad, I think this will help the consumers help pick out the right agent for them.  Thanks.

Cheers from Lake Tahoe,

~Grace Yee

Posted by Brandon & Grace Yee, Lake Tahoe Real Estate (Chase International) over 9 years ago

Alan May - you most certainly tweaked it...(lol) but the Morgan Fairchild thing might be pushing it a little!!  :-)

Brandon and Grace - I think it will absolutely be influential.  Cheers back to you in Tahoe from here in the Bay area.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

Thank you for the info.  I have read about this but have yet to get my clients to write the reviews.  Looks like it will be worth the time invested.

Posted by Tony Morganti, CRS, ABR, SRES - Cuyahoga Falls, Stow (RE/MAX Crossroads in Cuyahoga Falls and Stow, Ohio) over 9 years ago

Thanks for the post. I don't get to the Zillow site often, so had to go check it out!

Posted by Gabrielle Nemes, 206.300.8421, S King & Pierce County RE Advocate (RE/MAX Realty South) over 9 years ago

Great summary Brad.  I just wanted to add that agents can also comment on the reviews they recieve from their clients.  So you could thank someone for the nice review and maybe subtly expand a little on how you helped them.  Just a though to stay engaged and further build a rep.

Posted by Sara Bonert, Real Estate Internet Marketing (Zillow) over 9 years ago

Saw this on Twitter this morning. A great idea but how many places do you ask your clients to rate you?

Posted by Dawn Crawley, Find Pinehurst Homes (Dawn Crawley Realty) over 9 years ago

I have sent it out to many of my past clients.  I have gotten 2 reviews.  need to get more:)

Posted by Navona Hart, Selling the Best Properties in Central Virginia (Real Living Cornerstone) over 9 years ago

I guess I'm going to be sending out some emails to a few clients to see about getting some good reviews.  Thanks for the notice on this.

Posted by Christine Donovan, Broker/Attorney 714-319-9751 DRE01267479 - Costa M (Donovan Blatt Realty) over 9 years ago

Hi Dawn - that's a great question. I would consider the locations where reviews and testimonials could deliver and have the most value. Since Zillow had over 13,000,000 unique visitors last month in December, I would definitely be sure to add our site to your list of places.  I think from there you could use screen shots/captures or cut and paste if you wanted them to appear in other locations and on other sites.  

Sara - thanks for pointing that out. That's a great tip and one I forgot to mention, thanks. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

I got a great review on Zillow from a present client - unsolicited, I didn't even know about it.  She did complain that they made her sign up for an account, but said that I ''was worth it".

If you email clients to review you, I think it is a good idea to tell them that they will sign up for an account, but that it just takes a minute.

Posted by Virginia Hepp - Mesquite NV REALTOR, Mesquite NV Homes and Neighborhoods - Search MLS (Desert Gold Realty - Mesquite NV Homes For Sale) over 9 years ago

Brad - Thank you for getting this info out - next tab is zillow... 

Posted by Terkel Sørensen, Realtor, 951.805.0773 , Bank owned and Short Sales (Real Estate Places) over 9 years ago

Brad,  Thanks for explaining this system, so far I've only got 1 review and am working on a plan to get more - is there some kind of script that you can offer to include in an email message - I suspect the biggest road block will be that they have to 'sign up' - guess the key is to get them to do it while their hot and you've just finished doing a great job for them.  Thanks for all your great advice!

Posted by Julianne O'Reilly, Syracuse New York Real Estate (Syracuse Listings) over 9 years ago

Brad, I've got to get on this. You posted about it a while back and I meant to work on it then. Good thing to do on a snow day today!

Posted by Connie Harvey, Realtor - Nashville TN Real Estate (Pilkerton Realtors) over 9 years ago

When I saw the review system, I just pulled up my last 20 closings, emailed those clients a link and asked if they would mind posting a review. I didn't really expect all 20 of them to respond, but they did. If I had more time, I'd email more clients, but I don't. I noticed a few rated me with 4's on negotiation and I had to chuckle because that's my strength, actually, and those were the sellers who had cash in the bank, which means the banks wanted it. Nobody's perfect, though. I didn't really expect the scores I received. I thought some would be more harsh. Short sales are no easy road, and managing client emotions can be a struggle.

However, I encourage agents to ask their clients to submit review for them. Why not? If you worked hard for your clients, you deserve it.

Posted by Elizabeth Weintraub Sacramento Realtor Top 1%, Put 40 years of experience to work for you (RE/MAX Gold) over 9 years ago

Virginia - I agree.  You should inform them they'll need to sign up (if they're not already, you'd be surprised) they'd have to do that anyway on pretty much any legit site.  Having a consumer sign up to leave a review for you serves a couple purposes: 1. It assists us with assuring  that the review and rating is in fact legitimate, and 2. Prevents the potential of folks trying to game or spam the network. 

It really does take less than one minute to sign up and they can always remove their profile after or unsubscribe.  To my knowledge, this has not been the case or a problem in the past. As commented earlier, I think it is very valuable to respond to these reviews by your clients. It's a great way to thank the client publically for that review, and it will most likely raise the "value" in the eyes of any visiting consumer and potential future client.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

Hi Julianne - There are quite a few ways to go about asking for a review from your past clients.  I could offer you some scripts, but I'd rather find out more about the clients you'd be soliciting? Some of them might prefer email, others a text message or a DM on twitter, maybe even a Facebook reminder, or just a simple phone call? 

The point is that each of your clients is unique and so was their experience working with you.  My personal approach would not be a script, but more a personal request based on the experience using their preferred form of communication. If you need some help with this, contact me when you have some time and I'll share a few ways this could possibly work for you.  You can click on my name below for all my contact info.

Terkel - let me know if you need any help when you get there.

Connie - A perfect thing to do on a snowy day.  Actually, it's a good thing to do ANY day.  :-)

Elizabeth - thanks for popping in, I know how busy you are these days. I have read all 20 of your reviews, and coming from a consumers perspective, I'm very impressed with how hard you work for your clients and I'm convinced you'd work that hard for me too.  Do or would your reviews influence my decision to work with you or not?  Without a doubt!!!  When I search your 95816 area for anything to do with Real estate on Zillow, you are always front and center, and now so are your reviews.  Congrats, and thanks for letting me share that with others.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

Brad, this is going to be huge for real estate agents. Zillow is the first top tier real estate related site to do this publicly, right? I am so glad to know about this first from you!

Posted by Sharon Alters, Realtor - Homes for Sale Fleming Island FL (Coldwell Banker Vanguard Realty - 904-673-2308) over 9 years ago

We sent it to a group of current and past clients. More complaints than positive  experiences. Several very frustrated clients that could not get the system to work. Sorry but it reflects on me and I am not real pleased, espically when I get frustrated folks I asked to review me.

Posted by Joan Zappa, Professional treatment of our clients, brings awes (Eagles Wings Realty) over 9 years ago

Frank and Sharon - thanks, I just shared your comment with 4000+ friends and followers on Twitter!  :-)

Hi Nick - I'll give you a ring and see if I can help you out with this. You're the first I've heard out of the 15,000+ reviews that had a less than positive experience asking their clients for a review.  Hmmm...  That is not the goal or intent of this obviously, maybe I can help you out. 

I sincerely apologize that you didn't have the same experience as those above and others who are using this.  I'm looking up your phone number now....  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

Saying from experience zillow has great traffic flow, but zillow also allows a small group of users standards that are different. standards not allowed in zillow. Unfair advantage and group behavior allows a discussions of unethical behavior, controversy, bulling, and plotting for gain, & leads, & profit.  

Posted by Jon Kolsky, Licensed California Real Estate Broker (Kolsky Realty & Management) over 9 years ago

Hi Jon - I'm not quite sure I understand your comment, I'm unaware of any small groups or different standards that you refer to.  This post is specifically discussing the rating and review process that has now been made public.  If there is some confusion on my part, I apologize.  If there is some confusion on your part, then I am here to help if I can.  Thanks. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) over 9 years ago

Participate