The ActiveRain Stuff You Won't Find Anywhere Else on the Web

Agent Ratings & Reviews Generate New Business

Do you ever wonder who's reading the content on your websites and blogs? 

Is it possible that people reading and seeing your online content might be considering using you or your services based on the information you're sharing? Do you wonder if they're quietly sizing you up? We sure hope so... that's why we're doing it, right?

Your online presence and content is now part of the "Interview" process.

When online visitors and target prospects are reading your ratings and reviews, they're making decisions and choices based on what others are saying and have experienced. The results can be incredible.

I had the chance to catch up with Erica Vautier Liodice at the NAR 2011 Conference in Anaheim this year. Erica is the Director of Marketing for RealLiving.com. When I asked her what tools and services she and her agents were using online to help generate more business this year, here’s what she shared with me.

Word of mouth referrals are a traditional and powerful way that business does get done. Online ratings and reviews are just as powerful in that they remain online and visible long-term to anyone and everyone that may want or need your services.

The BIG message and tip here is to solicit and get lots of great reviews. The secret formula to getting great reviews is to provide an “AWESOME” customer experience with each and every client you ever work with or do business with period.

Agent's Ratings and Reviews are definitely generating client referrals and new business.

 

     

"Learn More. Get More. Do More. Be More."

Comment balloon 24 commentsBrad Andersohn • November 30 2011 09:07PM

Comments

This is so true.  Always great to get those reviews right away.  Make it easy for them, with zillow they can just put it out there right online.  Thanks for the reminder.  

Posted by Kathy Toth, Ann Arbor Real Estate Experts - Kathy Toth Team (Ann Arbor Market Center Keller Williams) almost 8 years ago

Great advice! Yes I do wonder how much of my effort on the internet is being seen. I'm really new on the internet in this business, so I have alot to do to have a presence. Thank You for the advice Brad, I've got to get to work on it!

Posted by Cheryl Dickson, Retired Realtor, GRI / Retired Home Inspector (Retired Realtor / Retired Home Inspector) almost 8 years ago

I've had a very successful year with zillow.  I signed up right after I read your fist blog on the reviews... did you know in 3 days it will a be year since they were launched.  (steno girl has a head for dates).  Yesterday I helped someone who was working with another agent and "couldn't get the plat".  Then I recommended he still work with his agent after I sent it to him.  I do think I need to go make my ads "fresh" more than I do.  On my todo list for tomorrow.

Posted by Tammy Lankford,, Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville (Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668) almost 8 years ago

Kudos to you as always for such a timely blog! We all need the push in the right direction! Thanks!

Posted by Elizabeth Ward Small (REALTOR & CEO The 3B Method Seminars) almost 8 years ago

Oh my goodness.  I just realized that we're doing a free webinar in the morning (Thursday) about reviews.  If anyone is available at 10am PST, feel free to join us. 

They're informative and still a lot of fun.  Thanks. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Thanks for sharing --- will try to get on the webinar - sounds interesting.

Posted by Norma J. Elkins, Realtor - Elkins Home Selling Team ( Elite Realty Group) almost 8 years ago

I really enjoy your blog.  I do have a question if you have a second to answer it.  I create a lot of internet leads - specifically through Number 1 Expert and paid advertising  on some of the large web sites?  What is the best follow up system for these leads?  I have yet to find one that is effective.  Thanks for your help.  

Posted by Wayne Ellis, CRS (FC Tucker Emge Realty) almost 8 years ago

Hi Brad, great post.  I'm contacting my clients this morning with a quick hello and a request for a referral on Zillow.  Have a fantastic day. - Thanks, Christine

Posted by Christine Cumming SeaRealEstate.com, Real Estate Santa Cruz and beyond 831.588.7767 (Real Estate Capitola, Aptos, Scotts Valley, Watsonville) almost 8 years ago

Great story!

Erica, it was fun hanging out with you a bit at NAR. Thank you for your support of Zillow. I'm very glad that we can be a part of your and your agents' success.

Posted by Spencer Rascoff (Zillow) almost 8 years ago

Thanks Brad!  I have always asked for reviews via Zillow but with most people I've found that its something that just "sits in their inbox".  I liked what Erica's agents did, postcards and even phone calls to past clients.  I'm ashamed to admit it but I've never taken that route before (where Zillow reviews are concerned).  Thanks Erica!  Great post Brad and sorry I missed the webinar.

 

Posted by Dave Leiderman, ABR, SFR - Realtor - DE & MD Beaches (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) almost 8 years ago

Great blog and informational! Thank you!

Posted by Travis Skoglund, Selling Northeast Florida (Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Lifestyles Realty) almost 8 years ago

Kathy - another great tip is to respond to those reviews, the public sees those too.  Huge opportunity to subliminally market your knowledge and expertise.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Cheryl - someone is always reading and watching both online and off.  :-)

Tammy - congrats on your success, you deserve it!  A year already? Time fly's~

Elizabeth - OMG!  It's been forever since we've chatted, hope all is well.
Thanks for stopping by.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Norma - hope you made it onto the call today.

Wayne - call me.  I may be able to help.
707 646-1876 or click on my name below and email me.

Christine - would love to hear what they have to say....

Spencer - it was great getting to hang out with you at NAR, thanks.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Thanks for sharing.  Time to watch the webinar.

Posted by Luis Iniguez, Search Inland Empire Homes For Sale - Short Sale Agent (Option One Real Estate) almost 8 years ago

YES! And as mentioned, getting that recommendation right away is key, while they are still excited! Hope you are doing well!

Posted by Russell Lewis, Broker,CLHMS,GRI (Realty Austin, Austin Texas Real Estate) almost 8 years ago

Brad, 

Thank you for the reminding me of this feature. I am in the process of putting my business plan together and created an objective to obtain testimonies from my previous clients and from this point on I will be certain to do this right after the sale. I know that I need to be more attentive to my zillow account because I did receive a buyer prospect a few weeks ago. Thanks again!

Posted by DAdrea Davie, Stanislaus & San Joaquin Short Sale Agent (Keller Williams Realty) almost 8 years ago

Brad

Our company used to send out a one page form for agent reviews. Starting next year we will be using a company called Trusted Agent which is run by an independent company called StandOut. This one page review takes 2-3 minutes to complete and is not handle by anyone in our company.

Will let you know how it works out in case others would be interested in something such as this.

Posted by Curtis Van Carter, Your Napa Valley Broker Extraordinaire (Better Homes & Gardens Wine Country Group) almost 8 years ago

Russell - getting reviews when they're excited is a good time, but it's also a way to contact them later after they have settled to follow-up, check in, and remind them of how great a job you did.  :-)  Also, give them some salsa, BBQ sauce, or peach jam as a house-warming gift.  :-)))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

D'Adrea - we'd love to see you get many more where that came from, there's some other ways we might be able to help you with that besides the ratings and reviews. 

Feel free to contact me anytime if you'd be interested in some other ways to connect with more buyers this next year.  I'd love to help you out and have you share the results here in the "rain!" :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Curtis - I'm not really familiar with that site or program? 

What kind of traffic/audience do they attract?  They didn't come up in a keyword search I just did on google.  What volume of traffic do they generate?  How do they tie your reviews into your profile and your listings or contact info to get you more contacts and closings?  Do they have a Facebook app or widget you can share on other sites and blogs?  These are just a few of the questions that I'd have?  With our ratings and reviews, we got all that covered for ya and more.    

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Reviews - so powerful.

Don't know why so many of us are so reluctant to ask for them.

Phil

Posted by Phil Leng, Phil Leng - Retired (Retired) almost 8 years ago

Excellent point Phil - it's really as simple as "How'd I do?

I remember teachers giving us report cards and grades whether we liked it or not!  lol~

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 8 years ago

Thank you for the reblog.  This applies to all Internet leads.

Posted by Debbie Holmes, Gets the job done! (Gold Key Real Estate) almost 8 years ago

Participate