The ActiveRain Stuff You Won't Find Anywhere Else on the Web

How To Enable Facebook's Timeline Review

Facebook now allows you to be notified first of tagged posts and images before they appear on your timeline. This is a great feature if you don’t like stuff showing up on your wall that you haven’t reviewed and approved of first. How many times have you had to go into Facebook and hide or remove things that others have posted where you were tagged?

I’ve been tagged in photos I wasn’t even in.  Once I was actually tagged in an image of a lady’s pair of shoes. Really?  This is social media Facebook spamming. People do this just to get exposure of their post on your wall and tap into your sphere of influence and Facebook friends. Now there’s a way to fix it.

It’s called “Timeline Review” which can be enabled in the settings, but only if you can find it.  The timeline review feature by default is disabled, here's how to enable it.

STEP 1 – Login to your Facebook account and go to your personal timeline.

STEP 2 – Click on the “Activity Log” button located next to the “Update Info” button

STEP 3 – Open up the “Post and Apps” pull-down menu and select “Timeline Review

STEP 4 – Now click on the “settings Icon“   located next to the Notifications

STEP 5 – Chose to “Enable” or “Disable” the Timeline Review feature from this screen

Now you can stay in control of your Facebook timeline and what appears on your page by monitoring and reviewing it first. This will also keep you from having a "PANIC ATTACK" when you get that email from Facebook that says "You've Been Tagged in a Photo!" lol~

 

     

"Learn More. Get More. Do More. Be More."

Comment balloon 17 commentsBrad Andersohn • November 26 2012 04:30PM

Comments

I had no idea about this feature. This is brilliant, I'm going to Facebook right now to update my settings. I hate getting tagged in random photos too.
Posted by Erna Neal, A Knowledgable Central Florida Realtor (The Viking Team, Realty) about 6 years ago

Thank you for walking me through this, Brad!   Great post and great information.

Posted by Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence, Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker (Fred Griffin Real Estate) about 6 years ago

Great info Brad.. although i use Facebook less and less.. it is good to know

Posted by Janis Borgueta, LIC RE Salesperson (Key Properties of the Hudson Valley ) about 6 years ago

Erna - I had no idea either, that's why I decided to post this real quick once I found and figured this out.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

Fred - thanks, happy to help.

Janis - using Facebook to connect with past, current, and future clients is still worthy of your time and efforts. But being pulled there every time you're "tagged" may not be. Use it on YOUR terms is my philosophy.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

Brad you are the best ! Thanks you have been very Helpful

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) about 6 years ago

okay spamming is bad, but I tag people NOT in photos all the time, as a way of sharing them.  Pffft. for the people who don't like it. 

Posted by Tammy Lankford,, Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville (Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668) about 6 years ago

I've been doing this for awhile Brad, it is really helpful especially during the elections when certain people kept tagging me in posts that I DID NOT want on my wall. 

 

Posted by Missy Caulk, Savvy Realtor - Ann Arbor Real Estate (Missy Caulk TEAM) about 6 years ago

Here's a great example.... (TLW just havin some fun at my expense...lol)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

While TLW's photo/image didn't make it to my wall and pas the "Timeline Review" it was pretty hilarious!!

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

Not to get too far off-topic, but this is new and just came in my email....

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

Brad -  interesting - and informative. Thank you for sharing and I will henceforth make use of that service..

Posted by Gay E. Rosen, As Real as Real Estate Gets! (Julia B. Fee Sotheby's International Realty) about 6 years ago

Brad-Thanks for the continuing tips and tricks on Social Media. It's tough enough keeping up with the job and the info on Facebook etc just continues to grow.

Posted by Wayne Johnson, San Antonio REALTOR, San Antonio Homes For Sale (Coldwell Banker D'Ann Harper REALTORS®) about 6 years ago

Gay - I have already started using the service and can attest to the fact that it saved me some time, stress, frustration, and prevented stuff showing up on my timeline that I wouldn't have wanted there.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

Hey Wayne - you're very welcome. My reach is a bit less here since moving on, but I'm still always trying to help my friends and members here on AR. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

wow, I look at your blog and thinking: 'when i grow up, I want to be like you':)

How can you do so many things at the same time?

Great info, got to give my fb more time( it is so neglected....)

btw, did you get any leads so far from FB alone? or it is just a supporting page for your other blogs?

Posted by Inna Ivchenko, Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA (Barcode Properties) about 6 years ago

Hi Inna - thanks for commenting. 

I've found some great technologies and have put some systems in place that allow me to be doing twice as much as I'd normally be able to accomplish in a single day... (but that's a secret I can't reveal)

Facebook has in fact generated many leads and contacts but they ALL started off as relationships that had to be built, and I had to earn the trust and establish a rapport.  Social media in general is a great way to stay connected, but used strategically, can be an incredible tool for building business through those nurtured relationships.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Director of Education & Industry Outreach at eXp Realty & RE Tech Campus) about 6 years ago

Participate