The ActiveRain Stuff You Won't Find Anywhere Else on the Web

2008 Year In Review - The Archives

I enjoy doing a Year In Review post to reflect on all that has happened the past year.  The 2007 Year In Review was my very first one, and I've decided to do it again this year. This one is going to be a bit different than last years though.

Here's something I discovered while initially trying to create this post, and I recommend trying this for  yourself.  This just might help to inspire and motivate some folks to look at their goals, plans, and life  differently in 2009.  Take a look and see what this type of "Yearly Review" might do for you.

  In 2008

 

This is a recap from the ActiveBrad "Archives", BUT it's not about me. 

If you check out "YOUR Archives", using the monthly links on your sidebar, it's really very interesting.  It's kinda cool to look at your own Blog and go back through the year and "YOUR" life.  What does your 2008 Blog on ActiveRain reveal to you, or about you? 

Have you ever looked back at the year through your Blogs viewpoint?  What will YOU discover?  Sorting your posts out by each month, lets you really see exactly where you've been, what you've done, and possibly where you're going or where you might want to be in the future?!?

Looking back at my year in review, I discovered many things about myself, my life, my goals and aspirations.  I reviewed my Blog from a 3rd party perspective, like reading a book, and it shed a whole new light on ME.  Who I am, what I like, what I don't, and what I want to change?   Your Own Blog may be the best goal setting and motivational resource you have.  It's your most accurate account for YOUR "Year In Review".

It's been one of the most wonderful, exciting, and yet different years I have ever lived through.  I have grown and learned so much from all of you, and now I'm even learning from myself, and about me too.  LOL~

January

Has The Market Bottomed Out? - The Crystal Ball Says... - 01/26/08 11:57 AM
FLOCK - The New Social Web Browser - 01/26/08 11:22 AM
A Life Lesson - Don't Give Up - 01/12/08 02:36 PM
Overcoming Adversity, Change and Life's Challenges - 01/05/08 11:06 PM

February

40 People Who Want More $$$$ for Your Listing Than Your Seller Does.. - 02/27/08 02:59 AM
NEW MEMBERS - Start Here - 02/26/08 12:26 PM
Active Rain Interview - Live on TBWS - Video Killed The Newsletter - 02/23/08 01:05 PM
Your Blog - Is it Unwritten? - 02/17/08 01:53 PM
Active Rain Dinner - Ends In Marriage Proposal - 02/14/08 09:28 AM
10,000 Blog Comments - 02/05/08 08:26 AM
Active Rain Inspires Member's New Book - 02/02/08 10:23 PM

March

Flip Video - Taking It To The Streets - 03/31/08 11:08 AM
Real Estate Technology - The RE.Net Update - 03/28/08 05:22 PM
An ActiveRain Video Invitation - 03/27/08 03:59 AM
How to Add a Power Point Presentation to Your Blog - 03/21/08 11:29 PM
Passion, It's More Than Just A Word - 03/20/08 11:22 AM
Active Rain Instructions - How To Post Your Listings - 03/19/08 03:48 AM
Active Rain March 2008 Birthdays - 03/16/08 10:22 PM
Making A Point - The Power Point Way! - 03/13/08 10:50 AM
FHA Mortgage Limits - A Tool For You - 03/12/08 05:35 PM
Real Estate 2.0 - Does Blogging Really Work - Letter To The Skeptics - 03/09/08 07:17 PM
I thought I'd Seen It All... - 03/07/08 11:35 PM
5 Ways To Subscribe To Blogs - 03/07/08 09:52 AM
How To Set-Up Your Active Rain Profile - 03/03/08 11:07 AM
How To Complete Your Active Rain Profile - Part II - 03/03/08 10:19 AM
ActiveRain Reunites Lost Brothers After 41 Years - Unbelievable!! - 03/02/08 02:43 PM

April

The Blog and The Spouse - In Our House! - 04/29/08 02:07 AM
Mama Says NO BLOGGING! - 04/26/08 09:27 PM
How To Use Mixpo Video Online Tools - 04/24/08 07:54 PM
Viddler Video Commenting - Is This Vlogging? - 04/22/08 10:34 AM
Once Lost Brothers, Now Friends! - 04/21/08 11:29 AM
How To Get Started with ActiveRain Video - 04/20/08 04:08 PM
How To Customize and Personalize Your ActiveRain Blog - 04/15/08 09:51 AM
The Real Estate Market - Is Now The Best Time To Buy? - 04/12/08 02:01 PM
A Night Out With My Dad - 04/11/08 03:39 AM
ActiveRain LIVE on Late Night with TBWS - 04/10/08 07:53 PM
10 Tips For Creating Better Quality Videos - 04/09/08 05:02 PM
How to Use The Flip Video Camera with Your Computer - 04/08/08 09:32 AM
ActiveRain &;; Mixpo - 04/03/08 12:54 AM

May

Mr. Scribble on VIDEO - It's Not For Everyone - 05/30/08 01:25 AM
Mobile Real Estate Technology - Is It Necessary? - 05/27/08 06:58 PM
Real Estate Video Hosting - Dare To Compare - 05/23/08 03:52 PM
How To Join ActiveRain - A Video Tutorial - 05/22/08 01:28 PM
FLIP Video - On the FLOP Side - 05/22/08 10:30 AM
Email Signatures - How Good/Bad Are They? - 05/20/08 01:54 AM
ActiveRain Navigation - For New Members - 05/16/08 10:16 PM  
7 Unique ActiveRain Video Tools - 05/12/08 11:39 AM
ActiveRain Drops in Tennessee - 05/10/08 11:46 AM
ActiveRain at Real Estate Connect 2008 - 05/02/08 05:14 PM

June

The Birth of a Beautiful Princess Gets Celebrated - 06/30/08 04:18 AM
The Evolution of the ActiveRain Blog - 06/30/08 04:12 AM
ActiveRain Launches Outside Blogs - How Do You Get Yours? - 06/26/08 11:31 PM
10 Top Excuses to Be On ActiveRain - 06/20/08 01:50 AM
3 Ways to Use the Join ActiveRain Referral Link - 06/17/08 09:35 AM
The ActiveRain Video Blog - Video In Review and Challenge - 06/14/08 12:24 AM
The Super 8 Meme - The Viral Tag in the Rain - 06/09/08 05:27 PM
ActiveRain Voices - The New Q&;;A - 06/06/08 10:34 AM
Ask A Real Estate Professional - Who Will Answer? - 06/04/08 11:02 AM
 

July

The ActiveRain Gang - Follow Us Live @ RE Connect - 07/23/08 01:46 PM
The ActiveRain Starter Kit - 07/21/08 12:08 PM
The Official ActiveRain Gathering at RE Connect - San Francisco - 07/19/08 01:45 PM
Get a WiKi - With Just One Clicky - 07/15/08 11:26 PM
SEO Tools - You Should Know, about SEO - 07/12/08 03:11 AM
Real Estate Radio USA - ActiveRain Interview - Bob Stewart - 07/11/08 03:32 AM
Groups On ActiveRain - 07/08/08 03:50 AM


August

Pictures and Video DO Help Sell Real Estate - 08/29/08 12:49 PM
The iPhone and Real Estate - 08/26/08 08:47 PM
Karen George - Goodbye to an Angel - 08/25/08 01:29 PM
An Ambulance, A Firetruck and Localism - What Do They Have In Common? - 08/23/08 12:39 PM
So What Can You Do with ActiveRain Video? - 08/19/08 04:19 PM
When NOT to use a Tripod for VIDEO - 08/18/08 06:01 PM
ActiveRain Launches NEW Video Interface - 08/16/08 03:29 AM
Getting to #1 on Google - 08/15/08 08:24 AM
Social Media Marketing - A Webinar Series for Members - 08/13/08 09:50 AM
Video Tutorial #2: The Basics of Shooting - 08/10/08 10:52 AM
Video Tutorial #1: What is Flip Video? - 08/10/08 10:40 AM
Localism - The Next Steps - 08/09/08 03:08 PM
Blog Blog and Now ReBlog? - 08/09/08 04:27 AM
A Symphony of Annoying Computer Sounds - 08/07/08 04:19 PM
Subscribed - When Thank You Just Isn't Enough - 08/06/08 04:51 AM
Localism - How to Add Photos and Why Quality is Essential - 08/04/08 11:05 AM
3 Ways To Bookmark and Manage Your Favorite Posts - 08/01/08 11:50 AM

September

The NEW ActiveRain Blog Customizer - Version 2.0 - 09/30/08 12:47 PM
ActiveRain and Your NEW Twitter Settings - 09/29/08 12:02 PM
Enjoying The Journey of Lifetime! - 09/29/08 02:16 AM
New Members - Video Explanations - Social Media, Blogging and MORE! - 09/27/08 01:00 AM
Is This Really 1929 - 2.0? - 09/25/08 11:09 AM
The Petrified Forest Whispers Happy Birthday Today - 09/24/08 01:48 PM
RETaggr - Can It Really Do All That? - 09/22/08 05:24 PM
Disabled Comments or The Disabled Post - 09/20/08 04:22 PM
Video Audio Indexing - Converting Your Voice and Audio To Text - 09/20/08 01:37 PM
Reel Dwellings TV meets RAIN Radio - 09/18/08 09:40 AM
3 Ways To Reach Your Audience - Blogging Just Isn't Enough - 09/17/08 10:42 PM
Adding Forms To Your Blog Post - 09/13/08 10:53 PM
The ActiveRain Suggestion Box - 09/11/08 04:11 PM
How To Use ActiveRain Channels - 09/09/08 01:54 PM
Getting To Know ActiveRain - I Want To Know... - 09/08/08 11:52 AM
Are You Sick and Tired of Scams and Spams? - 09/05/08 09:53 PM
WEB 2.0 - Top 100 Applications and Sites 2008 - 09/04/08 11:00 AM
ActiveRain Live Talk Show on BlogTalkRadio - 09/02/08 03:14 AM

October

Your Social Media User Name - Is It Too Late? - 10/31/08 04:00 PM
Who Is ActiveRain's Jeff Corbett - The XBroker? - 10/31/08 02:40 AM
Listing Router - How To Set Up Your Own Click Campaign - 10/29/08 12:56 AM
Listing Router - How To Setup and Save Your Own Traffic - 10/29/08 12:56 AM
Listing Router - How To Opt Out - 10/28/08 11:52 PM
There's No Place Like Home... - 10/26/08 02:57 PM
☂ ActiveRain at REBarCamp - LIVE Updates and Real-Time Feeds ☚ - 10/20/08 12:20 PM
ActiveRain @ REBarCamp - Knocking on the Doors of Opportunity - 10/17/08 02:38 PM
We Built This City... - 10/15/08 02:29 AM
ActiveRain Approved Widgets and Script Codes - 10/13/08 02:18 PM
Be On The Lookout ... SPAMMERS are Sneaking Into The Rain - 10/11/08 07:01 PM
ActiveBrad's TOP FREE Picks - 2008 - 10/08/08 03:29 AM
URGENT - Help Me Get This PreSCRIPTion Filled - 10/04/08 02:16 PM
The Extinction of Money - or -  Tips For Buyers - 10/02/08 06:52 PM

November

There's Blog Power in Your Mouse - It's The Right Click - 11/30/08 01:28 PM
The Power of Giving - The Gift of Thanks - 11/27/08 11:31 AM
The Turkey Ran Wild - ɹǝʌɹǝs ǝɥʇ uı ʇɥƃnɐɔ ʇoƃ - It's Only Temporary... - 11/23/08 03:39 PM
Twitter Gone Wild! - Rated T - 11/20/08 07:15 PM
Social Media Networking - Welcome To The Matrix - 11/17/08 04:27 PM
Convert Your Blog To Audio in 60 Seconds - 11/16/08 08:58 AM
Copyright Laws and You - Here's All You'll EVER Need To Know - 11/13/08 03:46 PM
300 - Where Will You Be for #300 on ActiveRain? - 11/09/08 05:34 PM
LinkedIn Becomes More than A Profile -or- The On-Line Resume' - 11/04/08 03:56 PM
Copyright - Is It Clear? Are We Safe? - 11/02/08 11:00 PM

December

ActiveRain Gathering 2008 - Our Final Social Networking Party - 12/18/08 02:42 AM
Generating Leads Using IDX Tools - 12/15/08 10:38 PM
1000 Posts In One - It's A FeedFuze - 12/13/08 11:48 AM
The On-Line Book To Show Face and Make Friends - 12/10/08 05:37 PM
ActiveRain Widgets and The New and Approved HTML List - 12/05/08 07:07 PM
How To Remove Antivirus Pro 2009 VIRUS from your Computer - 12/02/08 10:08 AM

It's really different when you see all that you've done in a year, your life all on a single page.  It's like a big recording of events that you might have forgotten about, or lost if it weren't for your Blog.  So what does your Blog's "Year In Review" say about you, or to you?  I know in 2009, I'm making some changes, and without a doubt, "I'm starting with the man in the mirror."

It was a GREAT 2008, I'm looking forward to a DIVINE 2009!!   :-)

 

     

"Learn More. Get More. Do More. Be More."

Comment balloon 103 commentsBrad Andersohn • December 20 2008 01:59PM

Comments

Brad - I like that idea!  I think I'll go see what my archive tells me...  :)

Posted by Debi Ernst, GRI, e-PRO, Broker/Sales Associate (St. Charles County, Missouri - Prudential Alliance Realtors) almost 12 years ago

Debi - this was not where this post was originally going, but it was like a "Ghost of History Past" took over and made me do it.  Mid way through the original post I was writing, this just struck me and seemed like the theme to end the year on.  Most probably won't go through this process on other members, but I bet anyone who reads this will do it on themselves.  Good luck in your discoveries, and have a great Holiday this year.  :-) 

BTW - I'd love to see your "Year In Review!"

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Great idea - I'll certainly be bookmarking this. And really, maybe we should all consider doing this from time to time. 

Posted by Stephen Kappre, Helping You Home (KW Hometown) almost 12 years ago

2008 was a year of growth and transition for me (not necessarily in that order)  I am looking forward to an exciting and Divine 2009 (like that phrase).

Posted by Marjorie Taylor, New Homes in St. Augustine Florida (Riverside Homes) almost 12 years ago

Brad...

I have never checked my history in that manner, I just might do that!

Posted by Richard Weisser, Richard Weisser Retired Real Estate Professional (Richard Weisser Realty) almost 12 years ago

Steve - I just discovered this as I was writing this post, possibly the last one of the year.  I suggest doing this at least every year, it really is an eye opener when you look back at the big picture.  For me, it helps me with the Big Picture in the future. 

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Wow! This is awesome. I've got to run and tell the guys to come and check this out. Very cool. Thanks for the tweet. <3 C.

Posted by C Tann-Starr (Tann Starr & Associates, Inc.) almost 12 years ago

Richard - yours will be a publishable Book!!  You have a great Blog my friend, looking forward to all you have for us this next year. Happy Holidays.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Marjorie - funny thing is, you can't be on ActiveRain and not learn, grow, connect, make friends, do business etc.  If you're not experiencing these things, then you're not really "ON" ActiveRain. 

Have a great year, and congrats for all you have accomplished and learned thus far.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

I really like your idea Brad! A great time to contemplate the past year and make goals for the coming year. Thank you for sharing. I think I might do one of these.

Posted by Katerina Gasset, Get It Done For Me Virtual Services (Get It Done For Me Virtual Services ) almost 12 years ago

Thanks Carolyn - I hope you'll do this with your Blog too.  I promise something happens to you emotionally and spiritually when you do.  It did for me.  :-)  You know I luv ya and hope your Holidays "ROCK" you and the little minions world.  (BIG SMILE!!)  <3

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Katerina - I can only imagine what yours will look like, you have written so many great and helpful posts, but what it will do for you may be different than anything you've ever experienced on AR.  The coolest thing is, it's YOU teaching YOU!  It's deep I know, but very cool when looked at with an open mind. 

Goals are important, it's hard to know where you want to go, if you're not really sure where you've been. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Hi Brad!  Great idea!  I'm actually writing one right now to help new Rainers that have lots of links to others' informative posts.  Perhaps I should think of doing a 1-year recap of my own, huh?!

Thanks for ALL you do here Brad!  You and the rest of the guys are just fabulous and continue to make this a 'personable' forum--which is a huge accomplishment with as many members as we have here!

Merry ChristmasMerry Christmas

Posted by Debe Maxwell, CRS, The right Charlotte REALTOR! (www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310) almost 12 years ago

Thanks Brad - this is amazing and worth a bookmark , a cup of coffee and a quiet read.  Amazing - Happy Holidays!

Posted by Shannon Gilmore, CRS, Real Estate Sales Associate with Long and Foster (Long and Foster Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Brad, there really is an awful lot of handy stuff on here!  This is a post that I'm sure all of us will bookmark!  So thank you!

Posted by Patricia Kennedy, Home in the Capital (RLAH Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Brad - what an interesting idea, and a great selection of posts to review again from you. I often go back to older posts when crearting links and make updates, but it's interesting to see what I wrote and how. Rather fun to look back and see where we came from, which hints at where we are going.

Happy holidays to you and your family. Looking forward to a fabulous 2009.

Jeff

Posted by Jeff Dowler, CRS, The Southern California Relocation Dude (eXp Realty of California, Inc.) almost 12 years ago

Brad I have been thinking of doing something like this with a theme. Mine would be putting together one post of all the best sites for Realtors to increase their SEO.

Posted by Bill Gassett, Metrowest Massachusetts Real Estate (RE/MAX Executive Realty) almost 12 years ago

I'll pass...I'm not in recovery ...yet...so it'd take up too much space...lol!

Great run down of your stuff..yours are valuable with learning tools and stuff. 

 I have to go back in mine and pick some out to update my relo package.

 

Thanks!

Posted by Celeste "SALLY" Cheeseman, (RA) AHWD CRS ePRO OAHU HAWAII REAL ESTATE (Liberty Homes) almost 12 years ago

I didn't know you could do that.  I'll go check it out.  Thanks.

Posted by Barbara S. Duncan, GRI, e-PRO, Executive Broker, Searcy AR (RE/MAX Advantage) almost 12 years ago

Debe - I'd love to see your one year recap, I wasn't going to add all thses links to mine, but it just doesn't look the same, or come across like it does when you see it all in front of you.  As you start creating a post like this, many things will cross your mind, it's incredible what looking back like this will do. 

Just cut and paste each month on a blank page, then remove the text and comments and you'll have your entire years titles right in front of you.  It's when you start reading some of the text you're deleting that you get drawn into your own posts, and then things start to happen, at least that's what happened to me.

It really becomes a unique and interesting way to see your "Year In Review" for yourself. 
(Disclaimer: This idea probably won't work for those who only post listings and market reports)  However, if that is all you posted, think what kind of a tracking record and archived loibrary you're building for the market and future history. Hmmm...    :-)

I hope you have a great Christmas and New Year, and thanks for your awesome comment and friendship.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

It's like a big recording of events that you might have forgotten about, or lost if it weren't for your Blog. 

Brad, you are so right about this. What a year it's been. I've been blessed with meeting you in person and enjoying our dinner bash together. I do hope we will be able to do again in the coming year.

These are all great posts....the comment you made that I underlined would be the perfect reason to submit your post in Diary of a Realtor....really.

Merry Christmas, Deb

 

Posted by Deb Brooks (Brooks Prime Properties Wichita Falls Texas) almost 12 years ago

Shannon - this really is more like a "life book" of this past year.  I didn't realize until I posted this, all the personal things I went through and experienced, both good and bad.   I also didn't realize I had written this many posts or tutorials.  What's yours like?  Maybe I've started something here?  :-))

Go read yours first, and enjoy your coffee, I think I consumed close to 365 cups of coffee creating all these... just another thing I realized I need to change.  TOO MUCH COFFEE!!!  LOL~

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Patricia - I'm honored that you'd bookmark this, but I hope it inspired you more to go look at yours.  It's a unique and individual experience.  Each members "Year In Review" tells a facsinating story.  Not so much just for others to read, but for the author/blogger to read themselves.  

It's more like a book of "Life" than a "Blog" we're building here.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Love this Brad! It's like journaling ... in reverse. Thanks for another great Brad bookmark.

Posted by Susie Blackmon, Ocala, Horses, Western Wear, Horse Farms, Marketing almost 12 years ago

Jeff - Exactly!!  I had never seen my Blog as an "Overview" of the year before, so it was on a much grander scale when I experienced what you mentioned in your comment.  I went in and scanned through ALL these for the entire year.  It was like a MAJOR Flashback or something!  I can't even put into words all the emotions and memories that were stirred up and exploded by doing this. 

I had forgotten about many of these things I had written and how, or why.  I think every Blogger should do this, it's like a roller coaster ride, fast, fun, and even a little bit scary. 

Love ya buddy, all the best to you and your family!  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

I wrote a post last year on Predictions for 2007, it was just in fun, and I have been dying to look back and see if any of my foolish predictions actually came through.

This is a great idea.

Posted by Missy Caulk, Savvy Realtor - Ann Arbor Real Estate (Missy Caulk TEAM) almost 12 years ago

We're having a great time discussing this through e-mails. CC is definitely going to be doing our version of the year in review. I am going through my blog and have an idea on how to do "TannStarr on TannStarr" for the Outside Blog Minion Review.  ;-)

Posted by C Tann-Starr (Tann Starr & Associates, Inc.) almost 12 years ago

Okay, I came back to say that I am SOOO looking forward to Bill's SEO tutorials!  Bill ROCKS and I would love to see his year in review! 

THEN, I see C's 'Minion Review' comment above, and am LMAO!  C-I think you should go into stand-up comedy!

Happy Holidays everyone!

Merry ChristmasMerry Christmas

Posted by Debe Maxwell, CRS, The right Charlotte REALTOR! (www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310) almost 12 years ago

Looks like you're slacking this month! =P  I haven't ever browsed through mine this way. But I have bookmarked every post according to the right folder I created in my Foxmarks.

Posted by Lisa Hill, Daytona Beach Real Estate (Florida Property Experts) almost 12 years ago

Brad,

Going through your posts I realize I've missed some that seem quite interesting and educational, so need to check them out later on. Happy Holidays to the gang. 

Posted by Esko Kiuru almost 12 years ago

Brad - I think I may do a similar post in the next week or two.  It's really cool to look back at our personal archives to see what we were thinking about and how we've progressed.  On another note, great minds truly do think alike.  I included "Man in the Mirror" in this old featured post of mine:

What is your personal "red lollipop"? Take a sincere look at the service you provide

Posted by Jason Crouch, Broker - Austin Texas Real Estate (512-796-7653) (Austin Texas Homes, LLC) almost 12 years ago

I'm afraid I'm glad 2008 is gone and hope next year brings bigger and better things for all of us.

Posted by Terry & Bonnie Westbrook, Westbrook Realty - Grand Rapids Forest Hills MI Re (Westbrook Realty Broker-Owner) almost 12 years ago

With 500 posts in the last year I will need to do some serious time blocking... 

Posted by Lane Bailey, Realtor & Car Guy (Century 21 Results Realty) almost 12 years ago

i haven't done that much on AR in 2008. Got off to a late start, but building momentum towards 2009 which I hope is DIVINE for everyone! Thanks for what you do to help us through the RAIN.

Posted by Linda Bourgault (lulugraphix-creative photography & fine art) almost 12 years ago

Bill - great idea, I did something similar on my AR profile, I made an eBook for members. Check it out.

Sally - truth is, I'm not in recovery either, but it was interesting to say the least to see a year in review.

Barbara - This AR, almost anything goes.  I think many of us forget those monthly archives are even there.

 

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Deb - thank you. It was great meeting you in Texas, and we will do it again.  I would have added this post to your group but as you know, we are only limited to 5 groups.  I will rotate it from one of the other groups when I get a chance.  Thanks and Happy Holidays.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Susie - your Blog is just like a life journal, we should all take the time to read our own and see what the overview message is that's coming across.  It was really an eye opener for me.  Happy Holidays Susie. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Missy - I'm curious now, what predictons did you make and how accurate did they end up?  I'd love to see a post about it, that would be great.  If I don't talk to you before then, have a great Christmas and a wonderful New Year.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

We're having a great time discussing this through e-mails. CC is definitely going to be doing our version of the year in review. I am going through my blog and have an idea on how to do "TannStarr on TannStarr" for the Outside Blog Minion Review.  ;-)

Carolyn - I'd love to see the outside Blog Minion Year In Review.  How fun is that?  Thanks for a great year and for all you do here in the community.  It has been an honor and priviledge getting to know you.  Looking forward to all the year ahead has in store for us.  It will be divine in 2009.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Debe - just remember you can do this with ANY members blog yourself.  Just click on the month, and you'll see every post written by that member that month.  I have already done this with a few blogs on AR, it really is quite interesting.  It's a view we don't normally see of go looking for, but it sure does tell alot about that member.  Have a great Holiday, I'll be in touch with you right after the first of the year.  I wanted to follow up on our last phone conversation.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

This is another great idea.  Thanks for bringing it up.

Posted by Melody Botting, You Deserve The Best (Broker Associate PenFed Realty) almost 12 years ago

Brad, great idea! However, I only joined AR this past November, so I don't have a whole year's worth of posts to go thru and put into a review. I guess I can write about the year using my day planner as a resource and then when I get to November, add AR as a source as well.

Merry Christmas!!!

Tony

Posted by Tony Orefice, Realtor/Harrisburg NC,Concord NC (Wilkinson ERA/www.TonyORealtor.com) almost 12 years ago

Brad - we really appreciate all your knowledge, and how you help all of us to do better.  Thank you so much, and best wishes for a happy holidays.  We look forward to next year and your 2009 review in 12 months!

Posted by Fran and Rowena, La Canada Realtors - (818) 952-0077 (Dilbeck Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Hey Brad,

I can't wait until you post your 2009 Year in Review.  Omaha in January???  :)

Posted by Bruce Brockmeier, Coached By Crouch (Internet Marketing Consultant to REALTORS®) almost 12 years ago

My favorite months have been february, july, and october (listing router). I am so glad that you share. Your tips have helped me enormously!

Posted by Sandy McAlpine, Search Lake Norman Homes For Sale - Lake Norman NC (RE/MAX EXECUTIVE) almost 12 years ago

Brad, you know we've looked up to you since day one. We couldn't have done it without your wisdom and your incredibly gifted array of writers working for you? No but seriously, how do you do it month after month. We're already getting ready for our Active Rain Pension. Well, if this past year was any indication we feel more of the same to come in 2009. AND THAT'S A GOOD THING. 

Keep up the good work. You are what makes this place come to life and we believe we can speak for the entire community when we say THANKS BRAD!

Sincerely, Active Castellum ( Castellum Realty llc - Lancaster PA Real Estate )

btw: i still want my localism shirt though :|

Victor

Posted by Everard Korthals, Mountain Realty (---Preferred Lifestyle Advisors---) almost 12 years ago

Wow, I was already impressed, but thats quite the archive.  I'm snowed in today and will be happy to go through this entry and take a look at all the blogs one by one and try to learn some valuable information. 

Posted by Morgan Evans, LICENSED REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON (Douglas Elliman Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Written on Valentine's Day and I was there to share that moment with you. "ActiveRain Dinner Ends in Marriage Proposal"

That has to be a real classic.

You should have named this post....."Why blogging is like DEAR DIARY"

Happy Holidays Brad!

Posted by Janet Guilbault, San Francisco Bay Area Direct Mortgage Lender (Platinum Home Mortgage Company) almost 12 years ago

It's kind of like "A Christmas Carol," with the ghost of your past, and your present. It would be fun to read about how you see your future. What's your prediction or your focus for next year? (Hmmm...sounds like a great post for yours truely. Guess I'll go work on it.)

Posted by Marianne Snygg, ABR, ASP, GRI, SFR (ERA Herman Group Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Marianne - funny, that's exactly what I was thinking, "A Christmas Carol" that's too funny.  The future? Yes, that would be a fun post to write, looking forward to reading yours.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Wow Brad. Lots of amazing, helpful posts. Maybe you can help me out...I am trying to figure out how to post a button on my blogs....a picture that when they click on it takes them to my website. I know there has to be a post on how to do this I just can't find it. Please help! :)

Posted by delete account almost 12 years ago

What a great idea for a blog. "2008 - The Best of Brad"

Posted by Craig Rutman, Raleigh, Cary, Apex area Realtor (Helping people in transition) almost 12 years ago

Been a little under the weather today.  Must be the rain, I got the chills and tummy pains so I've been resting today (actually sleeping...haha).  Will do my best to get back here this evening and catch up.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Wow! You really have come a long way this year. Looks like I will have to go write my own year in review to keep up with you. Hope you feel better soon.

Posted by Lizette Fitzpatrick, Lizette Realty, Lexington KY MLS - Kentucky Homes (Lizette Realty - Richmond KY) almost 12 years ago

Lisa - yep, I been slacking in December for sure.  This also does not include members only posts though. :-)

 

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Esko - the idea is to do this with your Blog as well, you may find you have missed a few of your own too. LOL~  I really didn't realize how much this past year had been such a roller coaster ride until I did this.  I originally was just going to post some highlights of the year, at least what I remembered, but when I broke it down by month, I was like, Oh Yeah, and ooooo, gotta add that, then before you know it, I was really shocked by my own Blog!  Had all this really happened in the past year?  I was wowed for sure!!  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Jason - I remember that post you wrote that included man in the mirror, I love the message and the song.  Great minds do think alike, but you're the greater mind, you thought of it first! 

Merry Christmas to you and your family, I'm getting ready to wrap it up for the year (no pun intended) and prepare for 2009.  Before it gets here, I need to spend some time with my far off family and some of our local friends.  Thanks for a great year Jason, I value our friendship very much!  God Bless.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Terry - I totally understand, it will be a better year in 2009.  You have made many new friends here, and you will make more next year, but the important thing to remember is, "It's Your Year" so you have to make it into what you believe it can be.  I'm right here behind ya to help make it happen any way we can.  It's the teamwork you'll need to count on this next year, together, anything and everything is possible as long as you believe, have faith, and pull together with others to just "Make It Happen!"

 

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Lane - with 500 posts in your Blog, there is many a story to tell my friend.  I bet if you go back through it month by month, you will be totally amazed by your own Blog.  I'm guessing you probably already have.  That's an average of 40 posts per month, holy cow!!!  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Linda - I'll be watching for your 2009 year in review, but even more, I look forward to watching it be created over the next year.  Have a great and Divine Holiday Season, and thanks for all you did in 2008.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Melody - The idea actually came while creating this post, it was not my original idea for this, it just ended up this way.  I hope you'll find some of the same things I did by creating your own year in review.  Have a great Christmas and New Year!!  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Tony - your day planner is just as good of resource for your year in review, I'd love to see what you put together.  Let me know if you do one, I'd love to check it out.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Fran and Rowena - I'll most certainly do another at the end of 2009, but it probaly won't be anything like this one.  We all know how things and people can change over a years time, that's what makes these so fun. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Bruce - so will I see you in Omaha in January???  If so, I look forward to meeting you in person.  Have a great Holiday my friend. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Sandy - thanks, I think every month was my fav, but after reviewing some of these posts, I realized there were some tough times in 2008, but we survived, and I'm here now able to write about it.  Thanks for all your support this past year and all your wonderful comments.  Looking forward to whatever 2009 has instore for us.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Victor - what an awesome thing for you to say.  I am so glad our Blogs crossed paths, I hope to meet you in person one day soon.  I was just looking at your Blog and all the great posts you've contributed.  I would love to see your year in review, that would be a post packed with some great information and would show how far you've come on AR this year. 

Keep up the great job my friend, and hopefully Santa knows how good you've been and will find a way to deliver you that shirt you want! LOL~  Happy Holidays to you, your family, and your team at Castellum.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Morgan - if you go through each post, you'll probably find out more about me than you may want or need to know.  Sorry you're snowed in, but maybe you'll find a couple things in this post that will give you some ideas or tools to incorporate into your Blog next year. 

I am still going through all these and I'm just taken back by all the things that happened to me last year, and all the things that happened here on AR.  We added more in 2008 to AR than any other year.  That was my original idea for this post, I wanted to share all the new and exciting things we added.  Well, this post does include that, and quite a bit more! haha.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Janet - that is one of my favorite posts for sure. That was the beginning of a big shift and change for me in 2008.  I will always remember that, plus you and I getting lost in the backroads of Berkeley. haha!!  That was an enchanting evening for sure, and one that I'm glad is included here on my Blog. 

I would love to see your year in review, you have contributed so many great posts in this community, I think I have read every single one.  Have a great Holiday and I hope we can spend a bit more time together in 2009.  It's going to be a fantastic year!!  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Hi Pamela - you can import any picture onto your post, then just use the linking tool on the toolbar to create a link to your website or any url for that matter.  If you need help with it, just call me on Monday and I'll walk you through it over the phone.  Piece of cake.  Happy Holidays to you and your family.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Craig - thanks my friend, but it could also be looked at as the Best and Worst of Brad.  There were some posts in here that personally I wish I never wrote about, you know, the ones about things you just want to forget?  But they are here, and that's what keeps our Blogs alive and "Real!" 

Looking forward to a geat year ahead, and for me, as long as the new year doesn't start like my last two, I'll be really happy!  Enjoy the Holidays Craig, you ROCK!

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Lizette - I hope you will write a year in review. You were one of the first people I met and subscribed to on AR.  You inspired me, and you write some really great content. You are so talented and deserve to have the best year ever!  Thanks for all you do here, and for all your love and support.  To say I am one of your fans and admirers is definitely an understatement. 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!  fyi...I do feel better now, just needed some rest. :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Ya know Brad, I think I have actually read all of these posts already! 

Posted by Jeremy Blanton, Myrtle Beach REALTOR®- myrtlebeachhomesblog.com (Myrtle Beach Homes Blog) almost 12 years ago

Hopefully by this time next year, I will have all those blogs to look back on Brad!  What an awesome post!

Posted by Tami Vroma, Realtor, Grand Rapids MI Real Estate (West Michigan Real Estate Specialist-Five Star Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Brad... 10 a week since I started...  I think there are some stories in there.  I know that I am going to have to look at my 2008 predictions soon...

Posted by Lane Bailey, Realtor & Car Guy (Century 21 Results Realty) almost 12 years ago

so will I see you in Omaha in January??? 

Hey Brad,

There are two chances.  Slim and None!  And Slim's not feeling good, if you know what I mean.  :)

Posted by Bruce Brockmeier, Coached By Crouch (Internet Marketing Consultant to REALTORS®) almost 12 years ago

Jeremy - yes you have, I think every post I own has a comment from Jeremy Blanton.  Thanks Buddy.  Now go check your Google alerts, I bet this comment will show up.  Looks like Google has started to index AR comments now.  Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, the wife, and your gorgeous daughter.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Tami - Next year you will have the same ability to reference YOUR year in review and make some of the same observations many of us can by doing this.  It's really an interesting way to look back and see what truly took place in your life and business, also allowing you to make the necessary and desired changes for the future.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Lane - it's very interesting what you'll find by doing this.  Your month in review will probably look like my year in review.  Yes, there will be some stories there, some trends, some evaluations that will come in very handy for you to assess your goals for the next year.  Set predictions, goals, and accomplishments.  I wish you all the best in 2009, and hope all your dreams and goals are achieved.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Bruce - tell Slim I hope he's feeling better soon!!  LOL~  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Brad,

     Thanks for sharing.  This is a really neat way to kind of gauge yourself and see if you spoke out on all the issues that appeal to you.  Also, lets you see how your views may have changed in just a years time.  Thanks!

Posted by Joshua & Kathy Schmidt (ERA Henley Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Joshua - I didn't get all the issues out, but a few sure made the Blog roll.  LOL~  Happy Holidays to you both.  You will definitely see a change in my Blog this next year.  :-))

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Hi Brad, The best & worst of Brad? You give so much to this community, that there is no worst of Brad. Now it's time for a cup of hot cocoa & click on some of the Brad Files! ps- when I read a post that I like I tend to go to that person's profile & search through their archives. Even though I have been in this business for 24 years (!) I am learning so much from others viewpoints. Merry Cristmas my friend!

Posted by Marian Gregor-Ann, Arbor area Real Estate (Keller Williams) almost 12 years ago

Hey Brad, By the way, you make a really cute dancing elf!

Posted by Marian Gregor-Ann, Arbor area Real Estate (Keller Williams) almost 12 years ago

Brad - wishing you the very best of holidays!  Take some time off will ya!?

Posted by Georgie Hunter R(S) 58089, Maui Real Estate sales and lifestyle info (Hawai'i Life Real Estate Brokers) almost 12 years ago

I had fun going through my posts on "green real estate" subjects and putting together a retrospective of my own, Brad.  Of course your archive is much more impressive...

Posted by Jeff R. Geoghan, REALTOR, Marketing Manager (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) almost 12 years ago

Brad this is awesome! Thanks for the great tips. I am new to this so don't have that many months to go back but think you have a great idea. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

Posted by Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR, Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate (Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899) almost 12 years ago

Thanks, Brad, great post! I gotta go check mine out now.

Posted by Tom Larsen, We Shop, You Save! (The Larsen Protection Team) almost 12 years ago

just wanted to stop by and say happy holidays and all the best for a healthy new years and a better 2009 - thanks for all your help

Posted by James Wexler (wexzilla.com) almost 12 years ago

Marian - my email inbox tells me you weren't kidding! lol~  I see comments coming from you all over my Blog.  Are you commenting on every post?  I feel like I'm chasing you around my Blog! hahaha~  I'll just meet you back here when you're done, you're wearing me out!! 

Seriously, thanks and I wish only the best to you and your family during the Holidays.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Great job BRAD, I will bookmark this and go back and read the links I have not seen when I have time.  Congrats on a year worth of great blogging and great networking.  Have a great Holiday!

Posted by DeAndrea "Dee Dee" Jones, The NorthernVARealEstateLady & DMVRealEstateChick (Home Buyers Marketing II, Inc.) almost 12 years ago

Brad... YOUR blog says you are the tech king of ActiveRain. haha.  Thanks for all the great information you've posted in the past year.  I'm still working on much of it, but I do appreciate it!

Merry Christmas!

Posted by Jesse & Kathy Clifton, Retired (Jesse Clifton & Associates, REALTORS®) almost 12 years ago

I enjoy your blogs and contributions to AR.  Best of luck next year.  Hopefully in the next year or two, our blogs will be full of talk of recovery and stability.

Posted by Ray Cox (ERA Brokers Consolidated) almost 12 years ago

Brad - very interesting approach. When I was looking back at my archives I noticed that only two years of posts are there - the original ones have gone to Archive Heaven (or perhaps to Purgatory). It says a lot that Active Rain has grown in members and posts to where it has to limit the archives. Thanks for being you, Brad, and for staying involved with us.

Posted by Sharon Simms, St. Petersburg FL - CRS CIPS CLHMS RSPS (Coastal Properties Group International - Christie's International) almost 12 years ago

This was inspriational Brad. Some great contributions. Hope you have a a very prosperous 2009 and are enjoying this time of peace with family and friends - not blogging too hard.

Posted by Janice Roosevelt, OICP ABR, ePRO,Ecobroker ( Keller Williams Brandywine Valley ) almost 12 years ago

Brad: Regarding the Christmas Carol story line...I let too much time go by. Sorry, I was in prep for the holiday, and it just slipped my mind. I'll make a note and do it next year. However, when I get my business plan finished, I'll post about my future in 2009. Thanks.

Posted by Marianne Snygg, ABR, ASP, GRI, SFR (ERA Herman Group Real Estate) almost 12 years ago

Nice way to follow up on what you have done for the year.

Posted by Mike Henderson, HUD Home Hub - 303-949-5848 (Your complete source for buying HUD homes) almost 12 years ago

2009 has many great things in store for us all.  It's exciting and fun to prepare and set goals for what promises to be an even better year in the market, the industry, and here on ActiveRain.

Thanks for all the great comments, I wish each of you a safe, fun, and Happy New Year all through-out 2009.

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

I've been very pleased with my results on AR and in the biz this year.  Our market has finally slowed so 2009 will provide me with more time to focus on revamping a lot of my business practices.  Thanks again for your help this year!

Posted by Tracy Santrock, Raleigh - Cary Realtor/Broker In Charge (Fonville Morisey/Santrock Realty Group, Inc. ) almost 12 years ago

Brad- How did you get the links to list like that without your photo on every single one of them?

Posted by Katerina Gasset, Get It Done For Me Virtual Services (Get It Done For Me Virtual Services ) almost 12 years ago

Katerina - I cut and paste them from the post archives link on the Blog sidebar.  Then just remove the text, comment count, and photos. I was really pretty quick and easy.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Hey Brad,

That's a very impressive year to review.  HAPPY NEW YEAR!  The best is yet to come.  :)

Posted by Bruce Brockmeier, Coached By Crouch (Internet Marketing Consultant to REALTORS®) almost 12 years ago

Brad,

I just used your feedback button to pose a question.  I think this feature is awesome!

Posted by Ron Withers ----Retired Mortgage Professional almost 12 years ago

Ron - I just responded to your feedback, thanks, I do appreciate it.  :-)

Posted by Brad Andersohn, ActiveBrad - 707.646.1876 (Executive Director of Education at eXp Realty) almost 12 years ago

Participate